Opening of Italian borders

The Italian Council of Ministers approved the extension of the state of emergency on the national territory until April 30, 2021, as a consequence of the health risk associated with the spread of pathologies deriving from transmissible viral agents, with particular reference to the new coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 and to the associated pathology, COVID-19.

Travel to/from abroad is managed by the DPCM of 2 March 2021, in force from 6 March to 6 April 2021.

Furthermore, we inform you that on the Italian territory there are differentiated restrictive measures, divided into four risk bands (white, yellow, orange, red). The belonging of a Region or Autonomous Province, or other area of the territory, to a band is subject to periodic review. In the regions in the red band, travel is only allowed for proven reasons of work, health or necessity. The measures envisaged, in general, for each risk band, are indicated here.


Travels to Italy are regulated on the basis of lists of groups of countries, identified by the letters A, B, C, D, E, for which different restrictive measures are envisaged. In addition, there are some, limited exceptions to the obligation of fiduciary isolation, surveillance and obligation to have a molecular or antigenic testing, which we invite you to check on the links below.

  • List A – Republic of San Marino, Vatican City State: admission allowed without restrictions.
  • List B – States and territories with low epidemiological risk (list currently empty): admission allowed without limitations, with the obligation to fill in a specific self-declaration.
  • List C – Austria (with dedicated discipline), Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark (including Faroe Islands and Greenland), Estonia, Finland, France (including Guadeloupe, Martinique, Guyana, Réunion, Mayotte and excluding other territories located outside of the European continent), Germany, Greece, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands (excluding territories outside the European continent), Poland, Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira), Czech Republic, Romania, Slovakia , Slovenia, Spain (including territories on the African continent), Sweden, Hungary, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Andorra, Principality of Monaco: admission allowed (depending on regional provisions) in case of stay or transit in the countries of list C in the previous 14 days, with a negative molecular or antigenic swab certificate, not older than 48 hours. Alternatively, you undergo fiduciary isolation and health surveillance. It is also necessary to notify the Health Authorities of entry into the Italian territory.
  • List D – Australia, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Rwanda, Singapore, Thailand: entry allowed in case of stay or transit in the countries of list D in the previous 14 days, after filling in a specific self-declaration and observing a 14-day quarantine period in fiduciary isolation.
  • List E – All states and territories not expressly indicated in another list: entry not allowed (with exceptions). Those who come from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (excluding the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man, Gibraltar, British bases on the island of Cyprus and territories outside the European continent) and from Brazil, are subject to a dedicated discipline.

With regard to cruises, cruise passengers who have not stayed or transited in the fourteen days prior to boarding in the countries of lists D and E are admitted on board. In case of stay or transit in the countries of list C, passengers must present at the boarding the certificate of negative result of a molecular or antigenic test, carried out in the 48 hours prior to entering the national territory.


WARNING – This page is general and does not deal with specific cases. Since the aforementioned measures and limitations are constantly evolving and updating, for correct information, we recommend that you use the main national and regional institutional sites, including:

Governo Italiano

Viaggiare Sicuri

Emilia Romagna Region